Belgium sits at the crossroads of Western Europe. Its immediate neighbours are France, Luxembourg, Germany and the Netherlands.  On the North Sea coast, the majority of other west European country capitals are within 1,000km or 622 miles of the Belgian’s own capital of Brussels.

In amongst the flat coastal plains and rolling hills are evidence of Belgium heritage.  Traces of a past Medieval wealth in the rich buildings of Bruges, Brussels, Antwerp, Ghent, Leuven, Tournai, Mons.

Belgium has 3 regions morphed over time primarily due to what language is spoken.

Dutch-speaking region in the north is Flanders includes well-known cities such as Antwerp, Ghent and Bruges.

Wallonia is the lesser-known southern, French-speaking, region incorporating a small German-speaking area near the German border. The Walloon provinces are Hainaut, Walloon Brabant, Namur, Liege and bordering country Luxembourg.

Brussels is the bilingual capital region of the country and headquarters of the European Union.