El Salvador

Geographically part of continental North America and bordered on the southwest by the Pacific Ocean, and lies between Guatemala and Honduras.

El Salvador covers an area of about 21,040 sq km (the smallest country in Central America), although it is the most densely populated with 25 volcanoes and 14 lakes.  Home to more than 6.5 million people, the country is divided into 14 sections called Departments.

On January 16th, 1992, the government of El Salvador and the Farabundo Martí National Liberation Front (FMLN), signed Los Acuerdos de Paz (Peace Accords) in Chapultepec, Mexico, putting an end to one of the most painful chapters in the history of El Salvador.

After 12 years of armed conflict claimed the lives of over 75,000 people and caused the exodus of hundreds of thousands more who fled to the United States, Canada, and other countries in order to escape the violence.

Today, El Salvador is stable and with a growing economy, leaving behind its painful history.